Frustrated in Sales


Selling can be a very frustrating. You find yourself trying to compete with inferior products… or perhaps your struggling to fit into your industry. And then there is the whole “economy” thing going on, what’s with that?  Sale’s is not for everyone, it takes dedication, determination, focus and a winning personality. You need to be able to sell anything to anyone and you need the ability to close the sell once you have sold them on the product or service.

Being great at selling means you must find new opportunities, close existing deals, build customer relationships, manage channels, negotiate contracts, play nicely with the factory, get paperwork in on time and always have your car looking good in case the boss decides to visit accounts with you, or the clients decides to walk you out.

It amazes me when I think about all the “stuff” you need to master. Where in the world do you get the energy to accomplish it all and still find time to have a family or social life?

You need to balance your time. I hear you laughing!  Balance? What balance?

One thing I recommend for anyone in sales, find a way to spend quality time for yourself, your wife/husband, kids, girlfriend/boyfriend. When you are with them don’t take calls from the office or clients, let that call go to voicemail and return the call after your quality time outside of work.

For many you are saying “are you out of your mind?” or “I could get fired” or “that’s my bread and butter”.  Well very simply “no I am not out of my mind” “yes you could get fired” and “I realize that’s your bread and butter”. However if you don’t set the boundaries, your clients and boss will take advantage of you not saying no.

I have also found that none of those things matter if you don’t have a life to come home to. You can alienate everyone around you when you are a sales person, simply by doing your job all the time without setting boundaries.

Everyone has a stopping point, a time when they allot time for just family and friends with no intrusions from the outside world. Find yours! Oh and by the way “don’t wait until your head hits the pillow to make it “that time”.

One thing I have learned as a Sales person is that “life is too short and we are not promised tomorrow”. I have also learned that I don’t want to live with the regrets of not givng/living for myself, or my friends and family. Don’t be the sales person who says “what if?” Make each day count.

You can still be a great sales person, making top $$$$ and having awesome clients. You can be #1 in the company. All you have to do is set the boundaries, stick to them and know that what doesn’t get done today, can always be done tomorrow.

Be the best you can be, on your terms and happy selling!

10 thoughts on “Frustrated in Sales

  1. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest factor to have in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at the same time as other folks think about issues that they plainly don’t understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as defined out the whole thing with no need side-effects , folks can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  2. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

  3. Hey! I understand this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask. Does running a well-established blog such as yours take a massive amount work? I am completely new to blogging however I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  4. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  5. hey there and thanks in your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from proper here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, as I skilled to reload the site many times prior to I could get it to load correctly. I have been thinking about if your hosting is OK? No longer that I’m complaining, but slow loading circumstances times will sometimes impact your placement in google and could harm your high quality score if ads and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could glance out for much more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

  6. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  7. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing problems with your blog. It looks like some of the written text on your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Thank you

  8. I have not checked in here for a while because I thought it was getting boring, but the last handful of posts are really great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend. 🙂

  9. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and outstanding design.

Leave a Reply

